A summers day beside the lake

The hot season has arrived here at Lakeside.  Today it is 37 degrees in the shade!  We still get some guests at this time of year, but not as many as usual so May is the month for my husband, Pete, to carry out essential maintenance work whilst I focus on the marketing side of the business.

In the hot season I rise with the sun, take the dog for a walk by the lake, then feed him and the horse before getting my breakfast of fresh fruit juice, eggs, toast and coffee, all taken on the veranda while enjoying the view of the lake.  Then it’s time to exercise Raja (the horse) before a few hours working in the office.

Everyone gets tired in this heat so lunch is followed by a siesta – and that’s not just the humans!

Afternoon siesta!

I spend my afternoons either in the office or researching tours, or maybe shopping before a welcome swim in our pool.  If I have time I try to practice my Tamil which is not an easy language to learn!

Guests enjoying a dip in our pool!

The day winds down with drinks on the roof as the sun sets, and a great Indian meal cooked by our staff.  Then early to bed to be ready for sunrise tomorrow.

I must admit, I love my life!

4 thoughts on “A summers day beside the lake

  1. We wish we were there again as it would be interesting to see the lake in the dry season before the rain comes.

Leave a Reply

